By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - The "consoles are dead" years were hilarious in retrospect

Mummelmann said:

It was a shit take, traditional home consoles were never under severe threat by mobile/browser/social gaming. On the other hand; dedicated handhelds are all but dead and gone. Look at the collapse in sales between the DS/PSP era and the 3DS/PS Vita era, that's where the real hurt arrived.

But, yeah, "console gaming is dead" is even more hilarious in retrospect. I have a lot of experience with dead markets and platforms, seeing as how PC gaming has been dying since the early 2000s.

I think the Switch has proven that the mobile sector is very much alive and kicking. - The Switch is very much a dedicated handheld that has a charging dock with HDMI output over USB-C. - I would argue that Nintendo has abandoned the home console market, but it also doesn't matter.

The issues plaguing the 3DS/Vita era are/were many...

Higher prices, 3DS had a poor name so people may have thought it was a variant in the DS line (Just like WiiU was perceived as an accessory), in Vita's case there wasn't much in the way of support or even advertising in my opinion.

But yeah. None of the markets are dying, but the industry is certainly consolidating currently as Nintendo and Sony have abandoned their handheld/fixed home console dual device model and publishers/developers get bought up.

--::{PC Gaming Master Race}::--

Around the Network

Yep phones offering a far, far worse gaming experience means they can't kill off consoles. Consoles won't be around forever but they'll be doing well for at least the next decade easily.

Consoles are dead? Probably when you see an affordable "Ready Player One" around.

I mean the platforms that released between 2011-2013 for the most part did astonishingly worse than their predecessors.

DS - 154 M

3DS - 76 M

Difference - 78 M

PSP - 81 M

Vita - 16 M