By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - We need to talk about Superman for a second..(Batman vs Superman spoilers)

Okay.

I don't know where to begin. There's like 70+ years of Superman lore (1938-2016) so I can understand people not getting everything right. I'm no expert, myself. Just a comics fan. There are comics depicting Superman as "out if touch", " out of control ", and morally grey. In some interpretations an alien, holding back, pretending to be a human. In others, he's just a big, naïve farm boy. In the iconic " Kingdom Come " he couldn't even decide what was best for humanity because he was never really human.

People look at the movie and say "They got it wrong because Superman blah, blah, blah." They got it right because they went with the Superman from some amazing stories that mainstream audiences (movie goers) aren't familiar with. Even the animation has differ versions.

Watch Superman vs The Elite. Great version of a naïve Superman faced with some morally ambiguous anti heroes. Read "Infinite Crisis" where Batman tells Superman that the only time he's inspired somebody was "When you were dead." Look at the battle between Superman and Black rock where Superman didn't hold back and the citizens of Metropolis were afraid of him because of how easily he could have destroyed the city.

People hate MoS and BvS because he isn't the Superman that they know (amongst other issues) but he's a version of Superman that I know. A man with power just trying to do right without exactly knowing what he SHOULD do.

Around the Network

Posting again.

I remember in 1992 when DC killed Superman. They said it was always easy to kill him but hen what? They weren't going to kill him until they had the right story.