By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - TotK really makes Switch feel dated

Wman1996 said:

I just started playing Tears of the Kingdom last night. It looks even worse to me than Breath of the Wild. But I think that's a few reasons...
1. I'm playing it on a 50-inch 4K TV. I played Breath of the Wild on smaller 1080p TVs.
2. It's the year 2023. Even if Tears of the Kingdom does have slightly better graphics than Breath of the Wild, that's a generation of gaming right there in time.
3. I got a PS4 Pro and later a PS5 after getting a Switch. When I have played games that have much higher fidelity than Switch, it becomes pretty noticeable.
I understand Switch is a hybrid and they weren't going to to spend a lot of money to make the tablet more powerful or create a more capable dock. The Switch really could've used a Pro, since even the DS had the DSi and the 3DS had the New 3DS.
Unless Nintendo is going to have a very long life with the Switch before replacement, a Pro died from 2022 onward.

Same here. Starting the game on a quality 65" 4K HDR tv was a rude awakening. I played BotW on a 1080p SDR projector, which already looked pretty soft with 900p resolution as input. Now I'm used to 1440p upscaled to 4K, much cleaner sharper image regardless of whether it's an indie game or AAA blockbuster. But most of all, I'm used to the much better color and contrast profiles of HDR gaming. TotK looks faded, bleached, lacks depth in its visuals.
Even VR has moved on to HDR and simple indie games like Synthriders look much better color image depth wise.

Switch doesn't feel like a hybrid to me. It feels like using tv out on a psp compared to what ps3 produced on tv at the time. It's clear it wants to be a handheld first, the dock is just a convenient charging stand with tv out. The Switch really could have used a standalone version for TV with at least native 1080p output.