By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Xenoblade Chronicles 3 announced for Switch

Metallox said:
Dulfite said:

I'm fairly new to both series. I've only played Dragon Quest 1-3, 11 and I've only played FF 7, 9, some of 8 until I raged quit, and currently on 10. Of those games, I find Dragon Quest to be the superior series for my tastes, but FF has a worldwide appeal that DQ never had, and Xenoblade has far too serious of plots to be comparable to DQ. I think it is more comparable to FF, personally.

Xenoblade and serious plots... Lol. 

They have comical moments, but each game has very serious main plots. The first game Shulk is constantly haunted by what happened to Fiora throughout much of the game. X is dealing with Earths annihilation and the pending doom of humanity. 2 deals with the Blade/Driver dynamic which leads to a lot of misery after drivers eventually die and the Blades are left missing them. There are lot more than those.

Xenoblade is way more serious than DQ, probably less serious than FF7, more than FF10, and maybe about on par with FF9.

Around the Network
Dulfite said:
IcaroRibeiro said:

I think the problem is FF suffers from identity crisis, while DQ has being "stick with that works" for about 20 years now. I prefer FF approach because each FF entry looks a completely different game to me, it's refreshing not knowing what is coming for once on both gameplay, world building, story, etc 

Dragon Quest feels like I'm playing the exactly same game, in the same setting, the same world and same characters only with different clothes and different graphics. I don't know how people don't get tired of it