By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Where Horizon ZD fails

I remember when zelda was first announced and Aonuma said "you see that mountain? you can go there" i remember a lot of people making fun of him on forums saying zelda would finally do things that games from 2005 did, that he wouldn't reinvent the open-world genre.

i imagine him saying "who's laughing now?"

But honestly i think we should keep comparations of horizon and zelda away, one game aims photorealistic gfx and story while the other aims on adventure and exploration, it's like comparing mario kart to gran turismo, they are the same genre but with different targets.

“On my business card, I am a corporate president. In my mind, I am a game developer. But in my heart, I am a gamer.” - Satoru Iwata

Around the Network
pokoko said:
SegataSanshiro said:

No real barriers to stop you. You can climb about anything you see and adds a big vertical aspect to the game. You can go straight to the final boss within the first 20 min of the game if you really want to. You really can go anywhere you see with little limitations. It's also a game because of the physics engine. If  you think it you can probably do it. Not a game mechanic the game tells you. Just because of the physics engine the game is only as limited as the players imagination. Many games say open world but Zelda is one of the very few in existence where you truly are free to do whatever you want.

So if I want to go east, I can just keep going forever?  Is it procedurally generated or something?

The only invisible walls are the edges of the map, and lacking the stamina to climb to the top of something.

Oh, and there's disabling climbing in the shrines and main dungeons. I suppose that's only done to keep players from just climing to the main objectives.

Dance my pretties!