By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Witcher 3 vs Skyrim

I prefer...

Witcher 3 44 66.67%

Skyrim 22 33.33%

Total:66

Not played Witcher, but Skyrim was a big let down.

I hadn’t played a TES game since Morrowind and was really pumped up when I started playing Skyrim, boy was I disappointed. I stopped playing about 60h in and haven’t looked back. The game is so god damn watered down, I just can’t enjoy it. I can go back and play Morrowind (without mods) any day even after finishing the main story and killing Vivec and capturing his soul in a soulstone (I’ve clocked somewhere 500-800 h in it).

Is witcher better? (I do love the first book (the only one I’ve read in the series))

Around the Network

They are fairly different games, I really wouldn't compare them at all. While they both fall into open-world action-RPGs (barely, since they are often crossing that thin line that separates then from pseudo-RPGs like HZD and AC:O), TW3 is focused more on narrative and Skyrim is more about roaming around.

Ultimately, they are massively watered down AAA takes on genre (and in TES' case on some of its great predecessors) made for mainstream audience and both suffer quite a bit (creatively if not commercially) for it.

I came here to say, that both games are VERY different beasts. Witcher has a stronger narrative focus, which pulls you along a path and is therefore the better predetermined story. Skyrim on the other hand gives the player more to do as he likes and forge his own story. Both have their own up- and downsides. It probably depends on the player, which he likes more.

3DS-FC: 4511-1768-7903 (Mii-Name: Mnementh), Nintendo-Network-ID: Mnementh, Switch: SW-7706-3819-9381 (Mnementh)

my greatest games: 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023

10 years greatest game event!

bets: [peak year] [+], [1], [2], [3], [4]