By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Do you ACTUALLY believe that Nintendo is creating artifical Switch shortages?

Tagged games:

specialk said:
Aeolus451 said:

Using scarcity marketing doesn't really work well if a product isn't popular. 

Nice unfalsifiable position you've got there.

If a product is scarce, it's because of artificail scarcity, not popularity. If it isn't scarce. It's because it wasn't popular. 

Nintendo shipped 18.6 million Wiis in FY 2007. What was their actual production capacity? Ballpark me a number.

What does it look like from inside a hole in the sand? You haven't looked any of the stuff I linked. It explains the concept perfectly.

Around the Network
SegataSanshiro said:

When I was a manager at GS in 2007 Nintendo would purposely send us 2-4 units at a time and a space of about 2-4 weeks in between shipments. No way in hell was it that hard to manufacture a overclocked Gamecube 360's were selling like crazy and we still had a bunch stacked in the back room and that was a state of the art machine. So yes Nintendo does it. It's good business. Create a high demand with low supply. It's a tried and true tactic. Switch is popular yes but Nintendo wants the hype to ride for not just popular but creating even more demand for a double edge sword.

Between my brother and I, we went through 6 "state of the art" 360's (each had 2 die RROD, each have 1 working now).  Meanwhile, my 2007 Wii still runs like a champ.  Quality is as quality does.

Aeolus451 said:

What does it look like from inside a hole in the sand? You haven't looked any of the stuff I linked. It explains the concept perfectly.

You're linking opinion articles and blog posts fairly consistently. 

Your Forbes opinion piece cites Apple's iPhone 5 being backordered as an example of scarcity marketing.