By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Do you ACTUALLY believe that Nintendo is creating artifical Switch shortages?

Tagged games:

archer9234 said:
No. If that was the case. Than Wii U should of been strapped with production too.

The WiiU sold out at launch, too.  But demand fell after that, so the shortages didn't last as long.

Around the Network

No, I don't think they are creating artificial demand with the Switch, nor do I think they did so with the Wii, but they definitely did in the 3rd and 4th generations.

SegataSanshiro said:

When I was a manager at GS in 2007 Nintendo would purposely send us 2-4 units at a time and a space of about 2-4 weeks in between shipments. No way in hell was it that hard to manufacture a overclocked Gamecube 360's were selling like crazy and we still had a bunch stacked in the back room and that was a state of the art machine. So yes Nintendo does it. It's good business. Create a high demand with low supply. It's a tried and true tactic. Switch is popular yes but Nintendo wants the hype to ride for not just popular but creating even more demand for a double edge sword.

I remember those days.  Though thinking about it, Nintendo's run by a bunch of old men out of touch, so I just think they were expecting to sell what they're making.  The problem is that it'll take a few months for Nintendo to ramp up production, which I doubt they'll do.  And when they do decide they need to ramp up production, it'll be too late.

Iwata, discussing the possibility of launching the Wii in the Chinese Market during the October 2007 Q&A.

"the sheer demand in the existing markets around the world is already higher than the supply we can provide."

Regarding supply, Nintendo's presentation discusses bottlenecks and a short decline in production due to the Chinese New Year.