By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - NPD Analysis: How to Sell a Wii Game

Bamboleo said:
@ Capslock

Was a Wii owner, I am antecipating Red Steel 2 two, but I want to flop so hard to give losses for Ubisoft.

Also the swordplay from the game isn't quite 1:1 and that might hurt it a bit.

Ubisoft definitely released a lot of junk to the Wii. That's exactly why I hope RS2 will be a great hit if the game proves to be as good as I think it will. Ubisoft have to receive the message the consumers doesn't want cheap crap but can appreciate well polished innovative titles.

I have some experience with fencing and I agree with the producer it is not feasible in a videogame without a sense of depth. In the same way I don't want a baseball game to be a real 1:1 experience -- in which I have no chance to hit any ball from a professional pitcher -- fencing will need some concessions in exchange for a better gameplay.

Around the Network
NJ5 said:
First of all, a slight correction: it seems it's not an NPD analyst, rather someone from EEDAR.

As for his actual point... why is he ignoring the ton of titles which don't have sequels, but don't have nearly as great legs as those cherry-picked examples?

I don't think this theory flies. If you can make a high-quality and highly appealing title like Mario Kart, it shouldn't get a sequel. The reverse is not true though.

I don't see how your points hurt his argument. He's not saying that bad games should get sequels. What he's saying is that to hit it off with the Wii audience you have to make something that's original and fun, and get it right the first time. In other words, you can't throw sub-par experimental games at them and expect to be able to 'build on that' if one of them turns into a miraculous hit.

A game I'm developing with some friends:

www.xnagg.com/zombieasteroids/publish.htm

It is largely a technical exercise but feedback is appreciated.