By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Post your random facts

iclim4 said:
leo-j said:
I think it is impossible to lick your elbow
 Ahaha! i bet you tried it!!!

no duhh, ofcourse I tried it but when I was smaller or just last year when I was a freshman I think I did lick my elbow..

mM
Around the Network

Oh, just because you can't match my utter genius doesn't mean your facts have to be stupid :0

1/8 of all males in lands conquered by Genghis Khan (and his direct successors - Ogedai, Kublai and others - not including Timur the Lame and Babar who are indirect descendants) bear the same chromosome mutation traced back to a period almost exactly 800 years ago - when Genghis had sex with hundreds/thousands of women, and his descednants did the following.

Estimates are that he has 20,000,000 or so direct male descendants, including women, this number is likely close to 40,000,000 people.  When the study was conducted the Earth had just passed an estimated population of 6,000,000,000.

That means 0.66% of the world is descended of Genghis Khan - a man who died less than 800 years ago.

People are difficult to govern because they have too much knowledge.

When there are more laws, there are more criminals.

- Lao Tzu

Interesting, I have some ancestors from Kiev and Mongolian blood too...

Hmmm....

Yukon Territory is not a province, and Nunavit has fewer people if we count territories.

Thus, the next fact: Most Americans know next to nothing about their irrelevant neighbour to the north.

New Brunswick is the only province that is entirely bilingual.

There were/are anti English violence acts in Quebec.

In 2003, The Canadian government spent 2,120 per person on Health care. The American government, 2,724. Yet Canada is somehow mocked for it's socialized medicine, despite a government spending less than a "Capitalist" one and getting much much more from it.