By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - VGC: Switch 2 Was Shown At Gamescom Running Matrix Awakens UE5 Demo

zorg1000 said:
Chrkeller said:

When I asked why nobody else is using the chipset other than Nintendo his answer was nVidia doesn't want to play with small players.  People believe it.

And isn't the entire thread based on the premise the switch 2 behind closed door had visuals that rivals the ps5 and series x?  

"The demo is said to have been running using Nvidia’s DLSS upscaling technology, with advanced ray tracing enabled and visuals comparable to Sony‘s and Microsoft’s current-gen consoles"

So how am I exaggerating when the entire thread is literally about matching the ps5 in visual fidelity?

I’m no expert but aren’t Steam Deck, Rog Ally & Legion Go essentially handheld gaming PCs so they have to use x86 to be compatible with existing Steam/Windows libraries and going with the ARM based Tegra line that Nintendo uses would require games to be developed specifically for them? If that’s the case than it seems like a really good reason why Valve, Asus & Lenovo aren’t using this tech.

As for Nvidia not wanting to play with small players, isn’t that somewhat valid? Nintendo has averaged 20+ million units shipped per year since FY90-91, they can leverage that to get good deals on components because of the high volume. Steam Deck, Rog Ally & Legion Go are niche devices that combined will likely sell less lifetime than Nintendo sells in a single year, they aren’t going to get great deals until they can prove these are mass market devices.

That statement could very well be hyperbole but a couple points being they probably weren’t doing an in-depth side-by-side analysis, the excitement of being one of the first people to see a new gaming device in action & it may have exceeded their expectations. The combination of those factors could easily cause someone to exaggerate.