By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Should schools reopen?

Should schools reopen?

Yes 9 13.04%

Yes but blended model 12 17.39%

No 48 69.57%

Total:69

So, this topic may interest me more than most of you since I am a teacher.  However, I am curious what you guys think.  This is more directed with the United States in mind with Covid surging dramatically right now.  

What do you guys think?  Should schools be reopening right now? Or should we stick with distance learning? If they do reopen, should it be business as usual?  Or do you think a blended online/in person model is more appropriate?

Around the Network

In some states, maybe. In most, good god no.

- "If you have the heart of a true winner, you can always get more pissed off than some other asshole."

It depends on the country. I don't think anyone is stupid enough to argue that's a good idea for countries with thousands of active cases and/or community spread to re-open. Maybe when it is a few hundred in known quarantine.

I describe myself as a little dose of toxic masculinity.

Personally, I’m really struggling with this. I live in Utah which is one the states with surging cases and my district just came out with the plan to open up full go. Students will wear masks and such, but social distancing isn’t really an option, I have 38 students in one of my classes, lowest is 32...

Basically, I feel nervous for myself, my colleagues, and more importantly my students. There is a much larger population of at risk students then most people realize... I pray nothing happens... but it frustrates me how irresponsible the people in charge are being. With cases surging this isn’t a time to reopen schools... we should be safe above anything. If it is too dangerous for criminals to be in prison, how is it safe for students to be in school?