By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - The cuts for the Sw/Sh dex were worse than even the most pessimistic predictions

Tagged games:

400 + the new ones. That's quite a healthy number, I'd say.

If I end up skipping this game it certainly won't be because of the number of Pokémon.

Around the Network
Replicant said:

400 + the new ones. That's quite a healthy number, I'd say.

If I end up skipping this game it certainly won't be because of the number of Pokémon.

400 including the new ones, so ~305 old ones.

Inb4 Magikarp splash attack is OP

Chrkeller said:
So the game has 400 Pokemon? Seems like a lot to me. Granted I'm new to the series. I can't imagine collecting all 400.

As far I recall, Sun/Moon, the previous gen, had a little over 300 Pokemon to catch in-game, however you also had the ability to trade across other gens to bring other Pokemon into the game. They wouldn't be counted into your Pokedex, but you could still use them in-game and competitively (as far as I know...as I really don't play competitive Pokemon). If these 400 all exist in-game...than as far as I can tell its an upgrade for me personally.

I wouldn't say the issue the OP is concerned about is a complete non-issue...but I think the issue does get a misrepresented somewhat. I can't speak for every game, but the entire National Dex doesn't generally exist in the game world itself, if you really planned to collect the entire series' catalog of Pokemon the last few generations, you'd be forced to endure quite a bit of tedium to trade across your previous games, or use the in-game trading feature to collect them from people online. So while its true the game is missing content, I question how much of that content is really valuable outside of the competitive fanbase, or certain players that like to use a select pre-determined team every game.