By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sales Discussion - The hardcore console market seems to be shrinking

S.Peelman said:
I don’t think it’s this black and white. Not all owners of a system are either casual or hardcore. The PS2 for example has a sizeable amount of what you’d call ‘casuals’ on there and there’s ‘hardcore gamers’ mingled in on Nintendo as well, so how are we going to determine how big the ‘hardcore market’ actually is?

Yeah, as I've been saying for like 15 years - these are just mostly bs marketing labels, and a way for gamers who play a lot to sound "cool." It was additionally a way to try and explain and in a sense discredit the success of the Wii by the industry and games media, as this console had largely gone against the industry standard of how they viewed gaming was "supposed to be."

The titles are so ambiguous it's virtually meaningless. It's like, what's your specific metric that makes a "hardcore" gamer? The amount you game? The TYPES of games? consoles? PC? What if someone plays strictly basic mobile games like Candy Crush or Pokemon Go, but play those a TON. What if gamers just "casually" play Far Cry, Wolfenstein, Assassin's Creed, etc..  

I'm a living contradiction of these terms - I only really play a select few games (plus a lot of indies I have to review), but out of those, I often log/have logged in an INSANE amount of hours into them (Overwatch, Gears, Smash Bros, Minecraft, Starcraft, etc). I also really enjoy the goofy type of party/fitness/dance etc types that are considered to be more "casual" - like Just Dance, Wii Sports, Wii Fit, Mario Party, Mario Kart, etc.. while much of the Sony-style cinematic games are just not for me. So does that make me "causal" or hardcore? 

"We hold these truths to be self-evident - all men and women created by the, go-you know.. you know the thing!" - Joe Biden

Around the Network

Please help me make a poll, I don't know how...