By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - Shocked about Piracy?

There's an interesting article about the reason why the PS3 is not yet "fully cracked". It is quite big so I will not quote it but you can read it here :

http://www.rssdrop.com/console-news/why-the-ps3-still-isnt-hacked/

Around the Network
aspirin said:

There's an interesting article about the reason why the PS3 is not yet "fully cracked". It is quite big so I will not quote it but you can read it here :

http://www.rssdrop.com/console-news/why-the-ps3-still-isnt-hacked/

I thought some of the reasons it is hard to program for might be some of the same reasons it is hard to hack.

"Back off, man. I'm a scientist."

Your theories are the worst kind of popular tripe, your methods are sloppy, and your conclusions are highly questionable! You are a poor scientist. Especially if you think the moon landing was faked.

ioi + 1

Here's the thing. No console can just be "cracked". Diffeent people do different things with these console to get things moving. Here's what's been accomplished for PS3 thus far from the modding community:

-They're beginning to get PSN games from the PC over to the PS3, meaning they're opening up piracy for downloadable games. So far they've only gotten Gripshift and Go Sudoku to work.

-They've managed to bypass the firmware check from Sony to continue to go online and access the store without updating the firmware. 

-They've gotten about every incarnation of Linux up and running on PS3

-They've managed to figure out how to downgrade 1.60 firmware to 1.50

-The Swiss Army Knife v 1.00 contains everything needed to dump Blue Ray disc images onto your HDD without using Linux. From what I understand, they're now working on getting the games to play from the HDD but have not had success yet.

-There's a swap mod for playing import PS2 games and PS2 backups on your PS3