By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Microsoft Discussion - Microsoft does another 180: Cancels indie parity clause

This is because the ID@Xbox program is getting ready to explode in 2015!

Around the Network

Here, I thought Microsoft only did 360s...

Sorry, it was the first thing that popped into my head when I saw the title.

Empowering independent studios will make Microsoft platforms more attractive.

Feel free to check out my stream on twitch 

true_fan said:
Aura7541 said:

So X1 indie fans having access to more indie games is not a win? What in the world are you saying?

On the heels of every XB1 being a dev kit, Win 10-XB1 simultaneous developemnt i think indies would be fine on XB1. Heck MSFt just announced about 30 indies at GDC, it's not like Xb1 fans were starved.

My point is the fact that if I am an indie developer, why on earth would I even care about the Xb1 version until after I complete the PC or ps4 verions. At least the parity clause offered some incentive to treat Xb1 indie gamers as equals.  Personalyl if there was an indie I wanted that wasn't moneyhatted, I would be happy waiting an extended period to finally play it.

Remember I only speak for myself, just my personal opinion, it is ok to disagree*

But you are not.

true_fan said:
gooch_destroyer said:

Transistor.

I just read an interview and they never mentioned anything about not coming to xbox one becuase of the parity clause. They just have a relationship with sony, xbox one has a few of those type of indies as well. Judging by history the devs that complained about the parity clause never even contacted MSFT. Chris Charla blasted some dev recently.

http://gamingbolt.com/transistor-interview-1080p-and-60-fps-no-xbox-one-version-ps4-and-pc-differences-and-more