By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Would an "Old School Rare" game even sell these days?

I think a good Rare game could put up similar numbers to their old games. Only DKC and GoldenEye are in the top 100 best selling games.

(66) 9.30 Donkey Kong Country
(75) 8.09 GoldenEye 007
5.27 Donkey Kong 64
5.15 Donkey Kong Country 2: Diddy's Kong Quest
3.65 Banjo-Kazooie
3.51 Donkey Kong Country 3: Dixie's Double Trouble!
3.20 Killer Instinct
2.52 Perfect Dark
1.49 Banjo-Tooie
0.77 Conker's Bad Fur Day

"On my business card I am a corporate president. In my mind I am a game developer. But in my heart I am a gamer." - Satoru Iwata

Around the Network
green_sky said:

Would be hard sell. 

Maybe, but the pic doesnt do a good job of explaining since adults make up more of the console market, not kids.

Lewis are you forgetting farmville/harmheroessaga? cute still sells

@ 60 bucks it won't be a +10 million seller but i would do well

"I think people should define the word crap" - Kirby007

Join the Prediction League http://www.vgchartz.com/predictions

Instead of seeking to convince others, we can be open to changing our own minds, and seek out information that contradicts our own steadfast point of view. Maybe it’ll turn out that those who disagree with you actually have a solid grasp of the facts. There’s a slight possibility that, after all, you’re the one who’s wrong.

The more compelling question might be why kids like getting pwnd in CoD more than being an Italian plumber or a kid in a green suit saving the princess, saving the world...

I predict NX launches in 2017 - not 2016

It would if done right. A new Blast Corps in HD would be SWEET, as would a sequel to other franchises like Jet Force Gemini and a true Banjo Kazooie sequel.

And Earthworm Jim is not Rare, that was Shiny and was actually published by SEGA originally.

On 2/24/13, MB1025 said: