By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Shin’en Multimedia: Wii U Is Most Definitely A Next-Generation Console

Mnementh said:
TheJimbo1234 said:

The chipset might have the ability to run the same dx/openGL, but that doesn't mean it can properly. Take, for exmaple, Unreal 4. The WiiU does not have enough power to run many of its new features eg. high volume particle effects, dynamic lighting, tesselation, destructive scenery etc. To put it simple, just because a car has an engine does not mean it can pull 40 tons of frieght. Engines come in different shapes and sizes, and so does computing hardware.

Oh, and when devs get their hands into the new consoles, all previous consoles will look dated. That is guaranteed.

I am a programmer myself, and I can't make sense out of this. With modern 3D-engines many parts of games can be scaled, a reduction of resolution or framerate already substantially reduces the hardware-requirement. In difference to what JazzB said, also texture-resolution has to be reduced, because of the smaller RAM of the WiiU. Besides that the reduction may be not that significant. Let's wait for Watchdogs to get a better impression how PS360 - WiiU - XBone/PS4 will look against each other. Naturally it will look worse on WiiU than on XBone/PS4, but probably reduced resolution and textures and some removed effects and draw-distance might do the trick. We will have a better impression on how much worse it will look then. But the games should be possible to port, as long as the additional power is only used for better graphics. It might be different, if it is used for better physics or AI, as the gameplay really is impacted if these features are reduced. Unreal 4 don't get ported, because Epic expects the games of the usual companies licensing the engine to sell worse on Nintendo-platforms.