By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - id Boss: 3rd-Party Wii Development "Not Really Justified"

mario kart wii sold enough to buy out his crummy company.

Around the Network
GOONYDUDE said:
I think that the wii remote is what turns alot of developers away from the wii. Now if the wii had a more "traditional" game pad more developers might be willing to make a serious effort. The wii remote is still seen as sort of a gimmick to alot of people.

no i think it is the systems power.  Heck if I was a developer I would want my game to be the best it can be.  I would want amazing graphics, amazing AI, amazing physics, huge world, long game, voice acting, ect.  They look and see that the ps3/360 can make a much higher VISUALLY pleasing game.  And the easiest and the thing people seem to think is the most important is the visual part.  Its easiest to market, show, hype ect.  Showing some amazing graphics and special effects are easy to market. 

But does it make a better game.  Think of the star wars movies, the 1-3 are billion times better special effects and stuff but does that make them better movies.  Or the new indiana jones movie.  The original movies are so much better.  But special effects and graphics are so "cool" and everyone want sto do them. 

If you have an amazing game in mind would you rather it be some super high tech best looking game ever, or throw it on the wiiware/psn/live as a 2d game or whatever.  Developers are just being selfish, sooner or later the ceo and shareholders will be like "fucking get over making a pretty game and make one that sells for profit"

"Ah looks like typical 3rd party sales denial syndrom of Wii owners - when ID guy is perfectly right."

Ah, looks like a fanboy claiming something NPD debunked months ago, meaning you and the iD guy are perfectly wrong.

A flashy-first game is awesome when it comes out. A great-first game is awesome forever.