By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - JRPG's Definitive Top 10 JRPG List.

JRPG said:
PullusPardus said:
Lost odyssey is a joke compared to what we would call "Top Ten JRPG" your list is like upside down to me.
besides i never considered pokemon to be an awesome JRPG , its a simple casual one but thats all.

Like i said if you missed the train back in 98 then you just don't understand.

uh.. no if you mean pokemon i used to play all the time  on gameboy when i was younger , it was so popular and it was a bomb , but now its the same thing and it wasnt THAT good in the first place since i started playing more RPGs

Around the Network

Good to see Tales of Vesperia on the list. There need to be more main leads like Yuri Lowell, he was to freaking awesome. Final Fantasy 7 was a great game as well. But you list is missing the greatest jrpg of all time Xenogears. Final Fantasy X was a great game as well.

JRPG said:
BengaBenga said:

OK, I do have some issues. No that's not true, I have loads of issues.

And since you present it as the "definitive list" I feel I should correct you on some fronts.

1) Chrono Cross is absolutely NOTHING compared to Chrono Trigger. Chrono Trigger should be at least in the top3.
2) Lost Odyssey doesn't belong in a top 10 JRPGs ever. Let alone on #2.
3) Xenogears is missing

Xenogears is great, but i had to axe something. Chrono Cross to me was much better tha Trigger, and LO is fantastic. There are many people who agree that LO is one of the best JRPGs ever.

I never heard anyone say that LO is one of the best JRPGs ever. It's a good one and the written stories are absolutely fabulous. I also like the leveling and the characters, but the story is rather lame and the skill linking is just too messy. Also it's completely linear and it you only achieve freedom from disc 4. Definitely an 8 or something, but nowhere close to one of the best JRPGs ever.