By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - You guys who have been gaming since the 3rd/4th generations (or even before them)...

Its impossible to relate now to then...

For one third gen I was seven and the video games although simple could be totally mastered and were designed to play endlessly.

Pitfall. Space Invaders. Asteroids.

Now the games are immersive but I am less readily impressed. Also the improvement in graphics removes a lot of the imagination required to make certain titles come to life.

Basically I grew up. Maybe a young kid playing today will have the same amount of joy from playing his first video games as I did in the seventies.

For me. Time is short now a days and I have to take my gaming in snatches.

Around the Network

I started playing back in the NES days. last generation I had all three sytems and quite frankly it was starting to get old. I'm not saying I did'nt enjoy games, there just was'nt anything new about them. Now with the wii out I'm back on a gaming binge. When motion controls aren't over used and are implemented right it makes things for OG's (Old school gamers) like myself feel fresh, and when I'm feeling nostalgic I just throw on some VC games and reminisce.

Wichdog69

NiKKoM said:
Dodece said:
Nostalgia has a horrible habit of erasing the truth. That being that in some way those days were better then these days. Rest assured that is not the truth. In fact modern games have a higher level of quality, and we as gamers would not tolerate the crap that was pulled on us back then. We would not tolerate bad controls, or the old trial and error gauntlet we were forced to endure. The games were not engaging as much as they were mind numbingly repetitive. Do not confuse being induced into a zen like state as the same as having fun. Yes they are both relaxing, but one is about sincere joy. The other is about having a sense of nothingness.