By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Do you drink, and if so how much?

I am a...

Non-drinker 49 30.82%

Occasional drinker 72 45.28%

Moderate drinker 28 17.61%

Heavy drinker 10 6.29%

Total:159

Mine is Once every week so 52 in total for each year.

Around the Network

I figure maybe it's time for me to expand my horizons and try some more different drinks; there is still a lot I haven't gotten around to yet like gin, brandy, or cognac. I've been sticking pretty closely to my favourites for many years now and not really trying new ones.

I'm also still working on finding just the right balance where I can drink enough to enjoy the effects but not feel like crap the next day or damage my health.

More than I should, put it that way. ESPECIALLY this year with the lockdowns/semi-lockdowns. Basically most days a week and drinks-per-week typically in the high teens. Though I've been making a point to take periodic breaks of several weeks in each of the past few years. In 2017 I took a few weeks off. 2018 a month, and '19 and '20 I did roughly 10 weeks totally dry. I'm hoping to progressively expand that with each year (as well as drink a bit less and take more days off when I'm NOT in those breaks), until eventually I wean myself into being either completely sober or at least close to it.

I'm realizing more and more that the short-term pleasures (which seem to be getting increasingly marginal anyway) are being outweighed by the long-term gains in physical and mental well-being. I felt like a million bucks during my breaks.

Last edited by DarthMetalliCube - on 26 December 2020

"We hold these truths to be self-evident - all men and women created by the, go-you know.. you know the thing!" - Joe Biden

curl-6 said:

Yeah same here, once I start drinking it's very hard to stop, it's taken me many years to train myself to pull back once I start to feel the buzz.