By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Looking for a gaming laptop

Ganoncrotch said:
SvennoJ said:

I've been putting off getting a new laptop for a couple years now. It's always the same game, waiting for a better deal lol. My current gpu is a 740m while I'm using an external keyboard as the thing is falling apart. It's time!

Yeah I know, it's not as big a difference as it used to be. I see it's between 1 to 16% slower according to that vs a desktop card. That benchmark shows FH4 running at 79 fps on a 1060 on ultra settings at 1080p. -16% is still 66 fps. It should be pretty stable 1080p60 on ultra, good enough. Compared to a 740m that overheats after 10 minutes, anything will look good!

Where are you getting the 16% difference in the cards? If you compare the MaxQ mobile version to a desktop 1060 the difference is far bigger than that.

Check out the discrepancies with the low end of the mobile GPU as well, thermal throttling on a laptop with poor cooling or dirty clogged up vents (sorry but from the sounds of your dying laptop with broken keys it doesn't sound like you are super careful with cleaning and maintaining your hardware) it really isn't going to be performing anywhere close to a 1060 desktop card after a bit of wear and tear has those fans clogged with hair and such!

From that link Farsala posted

The performance of the mobile GTX 1060 is a few percent below a reference GTX 1060 desktop card. In our benchmark so far (no max-Q version) the mobile GTX 1060 was somewhere between -1 and -16% slower than a desktop variant.

I'm assuming it's not the MQ version
https://www.bestbuy.ca/en-ca/product/acer-predator-15-6-gaming-laptop-intel-core-i7-8750h-1tb-hdd-256gb-ssd-16gb-ram-gtx-1060-win-10/12648525.aspx?