By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Why is the Switch still not getting big games from 3rd parties?

KLXVER said:
Because it takes more than a few months to port a game? Miyamoto said it takes about 1 year.

A year? OK, a waulity port with extended features, improved art assets and new controllers.

I work as a programmer, not games though. But the main difference is, that games include a lot of art (which does not need to be remade for a port) and gets a lot more testing than normal software. So if it takes a year: 9 months the bosses write papers and have meetings to finally decide they do it, 1 month for programming, 2 months for testing. I actually know this from my work, if I hear the first time about a project it would've plenty of time, if we get the go the deadline is nearly upon us.

New games are different though. Making concepts and finalizing your goals alone takes probably around a year for a big game (although this part is low on manpower). This is a creative process.

3DS-FC: 4511-1768-7903 (Mii-Name: Mnementh), Nintendo-Network-ID: Mnementh, Switch: SW-7706-3819-9381 (Mnementh)

my greatest games: 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023

10 years greatest game event!

bets: [peak year] [+], [1], [2], [3], [4]

Around the Network
Cerebralbore101 said:
I spit my drink out reading the thread title. Most Japanese 3rd party devs are already supporting the system with ports. Bethesda is the only western 3rd party dev worth a damn anymore, and they're giving Switch good support.

I dunno about Bethesda? Based on which metric? Your personal preferences?

Bethesda wasn't on my map before they entered the Switch. I got Doom out of interest how it compares to classical Doom (it's completely different, not only because of graphics, but gameplay is much faster) and Skyrim because I assumed it might appeal to me (it does).