By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
sundin13 said:
For a solid article explaining many of the facets of school choice including both pro's and con's of the different proposals, this is a good start (its a WaPo article, but the link below should hopefully get you past the paywall):

https://outline.com/wCSeM7

Overall conclusion that I read from that is that evidence that it actually helps is scant, and it is throwing public money into a largely unregulated and unproven industry with a questionable history. While I can certainly see some short term benefit in helping kids get out of terrible schools (and into other below average schools), I think that begs the question: Why don't we just adequately fund our schooling system? This seems to be ignoring the obvious solution to this problem...

I was a public teacher in an extremely underfunded school district. I find myself in the middle of these issues. I am very empathetic towards the lack of resources teachers and kids have in these schools but I'm also hesitant to increase funding into institutions that, more or less, are indoctrinating youths to think certain ways on controversial issues. The way I taught was to present multiple perspectives, but I was a social studies teacher. My fellow social studies teachers did the same, which was great, but it was the English, the science, and the math teachers that would shove liberal ideology down the throats of their students day in and day out that really disappointed me. There is only, in my experience, unbiased instruction in the social studies setting (which is the most important area to have that, granted), but it's all the little jabs, the making fun of conservative view points, the demeaning conservatives as beneath them, those kind of direct and subliminal messages that many teachers do, they influence kids who either aren't that far away from or already are able to vote. That's scary.