By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Music Discussion - Do you consider METAL, techno, screamo, etc music or just entertainment?

Music or just entertainment

M 71 81.61%

E 2 2.30%

neither 3 3.45%

other, explain 2 2.30%

see results 5 5.75%

Jackie CHan MEme ( WHat, I do not even) 4 4.60%

Total:87
Toxy said:
CladInShadows said:

As a fan of metal, I think screams and growls have more in common with percussive instruments than traditional singing. If the growls follow a rhythm, goes with what the other instruments are playing, and are pleasing to the ear of the listener, it's absolutely music.

I agree kind sir. However, I am afraid your words will fall on deaf ears. Tread with caution.

I think I'll survive.  Music for me is very personal, and I've learned that I don't need to defend or justify my love of metal.  I've been listening to metal for at least 25 years and have heard every counter-argument in the book.

Besides, and I think you'd probably disagree here, but I think padib has made some valid points and has presented his argument fairly, for the most part.

Around the Network

padib said:

I am not saying that all screamo music is bad...

1. I don't believe I implied that. But that being said, there are good examples and bad examples of just about every genre of music out there. I have heard some shitty shitty metal in my day, let me tell ya.

2. I'm not a fan of screamo in any way, so I'll take your word for it. My passion is metal, and that's all I'm qualified to speak on.