By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - Sony says it’s ‘very likely’ more remasters are coming

Pavolink said:
And I'm here bitching about all the Zelda remasters/remakes Nintendo did this gen, yet people seems happy about this practice. I guess I'm a weirdo.

It's kinda different, having great games like N64 Zelda era on the 3DS is just amazing, i actually forgot how much i liked Zelda before i started playing the remakes on the 3DS. Very few people still own their n64 or don't even have a TV that can play them, so it's handy.

TLOUR is a whole different story, it's great for people who played on their 360 and never bought a PS3.

Around the Network
Protendo said:
S.T.A.G.E. said:

Just to let you know...Sony is courting back a lot of gamers who had Playstations the generation previously before. 

Keep telling yourself that. I have seen quite a few X360 loyalists convert.

In order to convert you have to lack loyalty, genius. The main people who jumped ship from the PS2 to the Xbox 360 were third party early adopters and a lot of these same disloyal gamers jumped ship again. The market didnt expand with the xbox 360, but rather with the Wii. Outside of that it was fairly stable numbers between the PS3 and 360. 150 million plus gamers dont just dwindle to 85 plus out of thin air. The market didn't shrink from the PS2 to PS3 era, but rather expanded. This means the numbers were sustained ontop of Nintendo increasing the size of the market. This gen the market will shrink. 

binary solo said:
S.T.A.G.E. said:
Protendo said:

This is the result of Sony successfully courting the competitors audience. What's been there done that to us is now new to many. What they are doing is completely logical, especially when they use porting studios to do the work.

The more Sony is able to court other audiences from previous generations, the bigger the "remastered" audience becomes.