By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - Another remaster?

zelmusario said:
Let me preface all by saying I'm not a Sony fanboy. My first Sony console was a PS3 bought in late 2012 so I'm fairly new to their ecosystem and IP. I'm only now getting a PS4 this month.

Honestly, I was in the same camp as OP for the first year or so. I was sick of the remasters (and to a large extent, still am) and thought it was bs that Sony hadn't put out any/many new IP or done something creative.

Then, I remembered that there are a lot of converts from Xbox 360 to PS4 this gen that haven't experienced TLOU or the GoW saga or Uncharted and it's a good chance for them to play them and some of us to replay them. If I were Sony, I probably would be doing the same thing, right or wrong.

I also remembered that the first two years of every gen have a more predictable library where the titles are more scarce. We've had quite a few big AAA exclusives for PS4 already and although few of them are truly next-gen experiences, many of them serve to give PS4 its own identity. The jump from PS3 to PS4 isn't going to be as noticeable as it was from PS2 to PS3. I think you have to temper your expectations some.

By the end of the generation or even a year or two from now, I expect PS4's library to be massive, varied, and loaded with exclusives. It's heading that way. We just have to be patient. It's only been out for a year and a half and that's honestly not very long. Just my 2 cents.

ok, i completely respect your opinion, but think about this. what about all the 360 owners who were previously ps2 owners? should they have just remastered a bunch of xbox games for the first two years, or should they have made all the great games that they made for it instead? thats kind of the way i see it.