By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - HOLD IT! Smash Bros. is 1080P? AND 60 FPS?

OMG 1080P 60FPS with 8 players?

OMG! 205 36.87%

OMG! 33 5.94%

OMG! 56 10.07%

OMG! 45 8.09%

See results - OMG! 215 38.67%

Total:554

It's not like it's that taxing of a game. If Nintendo couldn't get 1080x60 out of this then that'd be thread worthy.

"On my business card I am a corporate president. In my mind I am a game developer. But in my heart I am a gamer." - Satoru Iwata

Around the Network
curl-6 said:
The screenshots have always been 1080p, indicating that this was the case, but still it's weird; they have targeted 720p in almost every other first party title, why shoot for 1080p with Smash?

Because Sakurai and Smash is the most important Nintendo IP (its a collection and history of Nintendo

Burning Typhoon said:
Uh... I mean, it's smash. Not like it's something really demanding too much from the Wii U. What I don't understand is why 1080p is such a big deal...

My HDTV is, quite honestly, an older one, and it's a 42 inch 720p HDTV. So even if the game was 1080p I wouldn't be able to see it. Part of the reason I don't own a PS4. I just don't care about the resolution. I only care about 60 FPS when it's a fighting game, or a platforming type.

But, Smash is BOTH a platforming and a fighting game. I wont touch a fighting game that isn't running 60FPS. And most of the games I've played in my life have been 60 Frames per second. Be it Sonic 1, 2, 3 & knuckles, Street Fighter 3, Marvel Vs Capcom 1 or 2, (not mvc3, I hate it, and it doesn't consistently stay at 60 on PS3) and a ton of other games.

Now, everyone wants to throw out 60 frames per second like it's this new crazy thing. Ignoring the fact that EVERY smash game has been 60 frames per second. This one had better be 60. It's a fighting game. It's normal for fighting games to be 60 frames.

It's got 8 players though.