By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Destiny Proves It's Time for Developers to Abandon Last Gen

HyrulianScrolls said:
TheLastStarFighter said:
HyrulianScrolls said:

I don't know. I'm not a game developer. I can sure tell you I would have had no idea something like GTA 3 was possible though back when the 6th gen consoles first came out. And I wouldn't have known something like Bioshock or Oblivion were possible when 7th gen debuted.

You shouldn't make a claim that something is a cause, without knowing WHY it's the cause. You have effectively proved yourself wrong here.

And you are wrong. The truth is, there is pretty much nothing that the current systems can do that the PS360 could not. They just do it better and prettier. You're falling for PR if you think Arkham Knight couldn't be on PS360.  There are no secret "Batmobile physics". Those systems could play it as long as you reduced the resolution, detail and/or framerate. 

The new titles have been various degrees of letdown because they are based entirely on a cool new "theme" one that isn't necessarily backed up by cool new gameplay.  There is a real lack of inspiration going on from all developers right now.

A new concept I really like is Evolve. It would have been even better if it was on Wii U, with 4 player spit screen and the monster on the pad, but that would actually make the Gamepad useful and would make too much sense. Sunset Overdrive and Splatoon also look like innovative shooters...but both could have been done on old hardware of course.

The only upgrade being graphics isn't necessarily a bad thing.  The SNES was a fantastic upgrade over NES.