By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Fact is, who bought a Nintendo console, primary want to play games from nintendo!! True story party people

Doesn't everyone buy a respective console, primarily, for its exclusives?

"On my business card I am a corporate president. In my mind I am a game developer. But in my heart I am a gamer." - Satoru Iwata

Around the Network
BraveNewWorld said:
Doesn't everyone buy a respective console, primarily, for its exclusives?

Not really. Most people buy a console to have access to the widest variety of games/genres first and foremost. Exclusives are then used to tip the scales one way or another. 

Systems that relied primarily or almost exclusively on 1st/2nd party games: N64, GameCube, Sega Saturn, Sega Master System, Sega Dreamcast, Wii, Wii U, Turbo Grafx 16. 

Generally speaking of that bunch, the Wii (fuelled by the motion gaming craze) is the only one to have achieved a really high level of success and the only one that wasn't routed by a competing console that had a higher variety of games. 

To be honest in the 80s and early to mid-90s that's what Nintendo was actually known for ... you HAD to buy Nintendo because you didn't want to get stuck with a Sega Master System that had some admittedly cool Sega games but literally nothing else. The NES had everything ... hockey, basketball, football, racing, action, shooters, RPGs, in addition to Nintendo's games. 

On my NES I played Megaman 2 and 3 and Contra and Super C and Metal Gear and Blades of Steel as much as any Nintendo game outside of maybe Super Mario Bros. 3. And on my Super NES, I easily poured more hours into Street Fighter II than any Nintendo game. Don't get me wrong I always loved Nintendo's games too, but it was never a "either or" choice before the N64. 

Not sure why but I laughed at the party people line, now back to partying.