By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Irrational Games are "winding down"; all but 15 staff laid off [edit: Gamasutra - Bioshock Infinite didn't sell enough]

Tagged games:

Ken Levine wants to pursue his dream of being an Ouya developer.

"On my business card I am a corporate president. In my mind I am a game developer. But in my heart I am a gamer." - Satoru Iwata

Around the Network
Soleron said:
I think he is lying by omission.

Sure, Ken wants to leave. Fine. But Ken does not own Irrational. Take-Two does. By their own admission, Irrational are some of the best devs in the world, and seemingly financially successful.

Why are Take-Two shutting down Irrational?

My hypothesis: Infinite flopped and they can't keep it open.

ok now this reasoning is making sense!

BraveNewWorld said:
Ken Levine wants to pursue his dream of being an Ouya developer.

think he has been moneyhatted by Amazon and their new games department...

Face the future.. Gamecenter ID: nikkom_nl (oh no he didn't!!) 

Soleron said:

Sure, Ken wants to leave. Fine. But Ken does not own Irrational. Take-Two does. By their own admission, Irrational are some of the best devs in the world, and seemingly financially successful.

Crazy if true. Just looked at the retail sales at it was at 3.34 million copies in lifetime sales. Then they killed the team that made Bioshock 2 as well. The future of Bioshock looks to be at an unfortunate end. You'd think they'd want Irrational making a new nexgen game of some kind, considering their success. 

fatslob-:O said:

Why should I care about your worthless input on used games when you clearly don't understand the perspective of a customer ? 

Next time think of less shit ideas and I may be able to let you off the hook for acting ignorant.