By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - What made you switch consoles?

vivster said:

Sounds like a happy end. What I would like to hear are people who switched from PS3 to X1 without going through 360 first. I heard that's a rare breed.

As for me. I got into gaming very late. I bought a N64 when the GC was already out. Then a GC when it was in its last stretches. I always admired my friend who had a PS2 with which he could play FF. That and Crash Bandicoot led me to go for PS3 as my only choice. Then of course it turned out that there was no Crash on PS3 and FF lost its esclusivity but I never looked back.  The first 3 games I played on my PS3 were FFX, X-2 and XII which would've never been possible on a 360.

Yeah, my first console was a Sega Genesis, I started playing it around 2000-2001, which was over a decade after its release. I got a PS1 in late 2002, which again was really late into its lifespan. I got the PS2 in late 2004- early 2005. I didn't catch up really until the PS3.

Around the Network

From Wii to PS3 because Nintendo, in my opinion, dropped the ball and failed to live to their promises. The PS3 didn't turn out to be what Sony promised, either, but they tried hard to make up for it, at least.

I had a big cell phone bill to pay at the time, and could not afford Xbox live anymore for a couple of months so I sold it. After I got back up on track I decided I wanted a bluray player for the time being and the ps3 was like $250. I only regret leaving my Halo 3 clan but at the time the reach beta was on and most of them did not like were the online was heading so we pretty much split the team up. Good memories on Halo 3 though, to this date I cannot find a game to replace the whole it left.

I started with PS1, then N64, then XBox. That was all because of my parents, I had no say in the matter when deciding which console to buy because I didn't really care as long as it had games.