By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Microsoft Discussion - Crazy Question/Prediction: Will Microsoft buy SegaSammy due to $ woes?

http://www.gamasutra.com/php-bin/news_index.php?story=17316

I've been saying for a few months now that Microsoft needs to forge new, valuable, and good partnerships in the Asiatic region. As we all know, the Xbox 360 has done much better in Japan, but is still in a mess of a position - it's still well behind in #3. Sales this year have been tepid at best (they're down significantly from 2007, but up from 2006). Microsoft has had some great succuesses with Namco, Tecmo and Mistwaker - but aside from those 3 companies, there have been very little bright spots. Microsoft games have been poor selling mostly (aside from Halo 3), and the system is still viewed as being a POS mostly (again though, it's still going to sell 1.5m units before the end of the generation).

Then enters the idea of strategic partnerships: Microsoft has done such with Toshiba and the HD-DVD addon. Microsoft is also no stranger to aquiring alot of companies. They've bought 2 very good European studios in Rare and Lionhead, and released Bizzarre from their clutches.

So now Microsoft is in a pretty wierd position - they've dropped 2 big-name developers in Bungie and Bizzarre. Even if both work for games on the 360 still, that leaves Microsoft with a pretty bad base of 1st party games, and a diminishing base of 3rd parties that MS can still count as exclusive (mainly Tecmo, Namco, and Realtime Studios).

Maybe it's just me, but I see the idea of Microsoft buying out SegaSammy to be something that would be most advantageous for Microsoft, both in Japan and abroad. SegaSammy sold around 2 million software units in Japan, and 6.25 in the US/Europe for their first 3 quarters in their business year.