By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Smash Brothers: What am I getting myself into?

I'm brand new to this series, and I was wondering what I'm getting myself into. I owned the games before; however, I didn't have anyone to play them with. Now, there's online, so I have a reason to play this game. What I was wondering is how deep is the gameplay? I'll be honest. When I had the Gamecube game, I didn't give it much of a chance. I wrote it off without much thought, and I might of missed out on a kick ass game because of that. The reason I didn't like it was because of the button mashing and the fact that there was energy bar. Instead, there was that 100% thing. I did not like that at all. Here are some general questions:

Auto-Gaurd: If you guys have ever played a King of Fighters game, you will know what I'm talking about. Kyo Kusanagi, the Ryu of the series, had this. In a few of his moves, when you peformed them, there would a spark if you were to get hit when doing the move. It looks like you did some kind of just defence or a parry. What happens is you take the hit and continue with your attack, both uneffected and undamaged. Does this game have that?

Priority: This is something I shouldn't have to explaine, as I'm sure everyone on this site knows what this term means. If not, I'll explain. Rember in Street Fighters Ken, Ryu and Akuma had an attack called "Shoryuken"? This attack worked great as an anti-air move. Furthermore, it could cancle out pretty much everthing someone tried to hit you with. For instense, if someone were to try and punch you, you could use the Shoryuken. What would happen, you ask? Your Shoryuken would serve as a counter attack, per se. Your move would have priority over there's, and it will hit him as if he never even attacked.

I have more questions about this series, trust me. 

Around the Network