By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Politics Discussion - 2012 Quebec Student Strike

I'm a student and my school has been on strike for over 2 months.  I wanted to have VGC opinion on this subject.  Maybe you've heard of it, when 200,000 students went in the streets on March 22.

Basically, the tuition fees are set to increase of 1625$ even if they are among the lowest in Canada.  It's a 75% increase to be exact.  It took almost 11 weeks for the government to meet the students.  Today, we are withing the 13th weeks of strike.  The semesters are about to be cancelled.

You can read about the subject here: http://www.stopthehike.ca/

Here's a summary in English (the French one is the best) : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2012_Quebec_student_strike

Here are some videos:

(riot at Victoriaville) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0pXA5e8Y95c

(22nd of March seen from the 16th floor of a building) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=La8HhUr3SxE&feature=related

I'll understand if you're not interested about this subject, but I just wanted to share it with you...
Because I love you :D

Around the Network

$1625 is a 75% increase? So you were paying just over $2000 before?

Dunno, it's a sharp increase for sure... but it's hard to really feel sorry considering you're lucky to pay under $5000 here in BC, and I know Ontario is even higher.

C'est la vie?

Aj_habfan said:

Dunno, it's a sharp increase for sure... but it's hard to really feel sorry considering you're lucky to pay under $5000 here in BC, and I know Ontario is even higher.

C'est la vie?

Of course it's not a lot.  But when you consider that the Quebec government is often caught offering contracts to the mafia, or accused of corruption or bad management of public funds, I think it's unacceptable.

Our governement looks in the income department rather than than its spendings.