By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sony Discussion - Sony sued over Linux removal, Case documents surface

honestly they asked for it, and if they didn't see it coming they should start hiring competent people (lately that seems to be one of their main issues)

Around the Network

This is still going on? I thought all the poindexters that care about linux were over it already. Come on I've had a PS3 since early 2007 and never even thought about installing other OS.

I apologize if anyone here uses linux and is mad about this, but come on people get over it. If you're posting on this site you obviously have a computer and don't need an operating system on your PS3.

im no expert on the law but the argument that they don't need to download the firmware sounds bs. Without it you soon won't be able to play new games, watch new moves. The ps3 becomes a paperweight.

Is Sony really allowed to do "whatever they want" just because it's their console?

I mean.. look at all the legal trouble Microsoft's gotten into before...

Keeping Linux will prevent you from being able to play Warhawk or MAG if you cannot go online.

Around the Network

well the fact of the matter is when the product was purchased, you agreed to a "contract" with sony that essentially gave them the power to do wtv they like with all features provided on the system and you agreed to the fact that you have no ownership of any of said features. matter closed.

when you buy some sorta software for your computer, you gotta agree to the ToS before you can use it. Sure you don't have to agree to it (this being synonymous with not agreeing to the terms of this new firmware update) but then hey, you can't use the software.