By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - FFXII: What's the verdict?

What's up with FFXII?  Every person I've met who's actually played the game either loves it or hates it.  It has to be one of the most divisive games I've ever come across, and I can't help but wonder if it deserves all the hate it's getting, or if it actually is the worst FF ever made.  Because of all the confusion this has caused me, I've decided to make this thread. 

So, if you wouldn't mind, post whether you liked/disliked FFXII, why you liked/disliked FFXII, and then provide a brief history of your RPG background.  What games you've played, what your favorites are, what you look for in an RPG, etc. so I can judge what type of RPG gamer you are.

See, I'm still pretty new to JRPGs, and I've never played a Final Fantasy before, and when I see this game sitting on the shelf for only $20, I can't help but feel tempted to buy it.  Should I?  Would I love it?  Would I hate it?  This thread is to help me (and any others who have yet to play the game) determine this.

Note: Please, PLEASE, do not turn this into a pre/post-FFVII flame fest.

Around the Network

heard it sucked, never played it.

x was amazing though.

The persons who played and loved FFI till FFVI HATE FFVII.
The persons who played and loved FFVII till FFX HATE FFXII

Fascinating isn't it?

I am kind of special I loved almost every FF except FFVII and FFXII.

In my opinion FFXII IS NOT A BAD GAME but people were dissapointed in it especially about the Story.

If this game was not a FF game people would probably say 'Hey try that game out it is not the best RPG ever but it is quite okay.

The game is great.

It lacks character development until the last 10 hours.

It's still got one of the coolest battle systems in a FF game, imo.

I give it 9/10, just slightly worse than The World Ends With You.

I don't need your console war.