By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Favourite console not from your preferred brand

Mega Drive/ Genesis but, PS1 is a very close second.

Around the Network

SNES. I never owned the original but my brother did - I had the Megadrive at the time.

This console had some of the best games of their respective genres and still hold up strong to this day. I come back to SNES games every once in a while and they're still fantastically fun to play.

farlaff said:
OdinHades said:

[...] Xbox [...]  was a beast and ran circles around the pathetic hardware from the PS2 and the Gamecube.

Whoa there. I'll have to go with Curl and point out that you probably did not play the Cube much. That thing could do some amazing things, so I'm pretty sure the OGbox would not "run circles" around it. Heck, I have even seen some analysis (can't remember where now) that show some properties of GC that were ahead of the XBox.

I'm no expert and one of our resident tech experts like @Pemalite could probably explain better, but as I understand it, the Cube's TEV hardware could combine up to 8 texture layers in a single pass, and because these operations were fixed function with dedicated silicon, doing so was faster on Gamecube than the Xbox. This is how you get stuff like the extensive use of advanced (for the time) material effects in Rogue Squadron 2/3.

Xbox had the edge in terms of more RAM and more flexible programmable shaders though.

Last edited by curl-6 - on 18 August 2021

Bet with Liquidlaser: I say PS5 and Xbox Series will sell more than 56 million combined by the end of 2023.

In general the Gamecube was simply superior at Texturing than the Xbox.