By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - General Discussion - Halloween and the Day of the dead!!

Hello fuchifriends! 

As many of you are well aware, we're having some spooky days ahead of us! In the US you have the Halloween and here in Mexico we have the "Dia de los Muertos" (day of the dead). Now, I won't be discussing the traditions themselves in this post, rather I'd like to know your opinion on certain matter regarding these celebrations. As some of you may know, they are, in origin, very similar traditions from different parts of the world that were transformed by Roman Catholicism and ultimately molded by modern society.

Here in Mexico I work as an English teacher and part of my job is to introduce the students to American and British customs, among those the Halloween. Yet, many of the parents of my students reject this idea, and don't allow the children to participate because they say is an "American Tradition". Which to be completely honest, I found it to be the lamest excuse. Because not for celebrating one thing means you cannot be celebrate the other.

So what's your opinion about this? especially if you have visited Mexico or some Latin American countries. If things were backwards, let's say your kids are invited to partake in a foreign tradition, what would be your posture on the matter?

Just to clarify, there are a lot of people down here completely okey with dressing  up their kids on Halloween and go trick or treating, and then two days later, building a "Dia de los muertos" altar. 

Around the Network

I live in Australia; when I was a kid in the 90s almost nobody here used to celebrate Halloween, but it has steadily grown in popularity since then.

I've often heard the "it's an American thing" criticism from folks in my parents generation, and I don't usually celebrate it myself, but I've been to a few Halloween parties in my time and they've been good fun.