By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Sales Discussion - Will the new generation have an impact on Nintendo Switch sales?

Everyone knows, the Nintendo Switch is a huge success but will it be impacted by the PS5 / XSX?

Around the Network

For me no but I'm not an expert, I know that the Wii / PS3 / Xbox 360 generation had no impact on the Nintendo DS, the same for the Nintendo 3DS

It will have an impact but a small one. Nintendo's holiday lineup will have a much greater impact on Switch sales this November and December.

Signature goes here!

Switch will probably be helped by the release of PS5 and Series X. For a lot of people seeing is believing. Once they see a cheap system with a lot of games in a store next to 2 expensive systems with few games, then most people will get the cheap system with a lot of games.

It might affect the people who already own a Switch. But for the people who dont, great games will still be available for it.

Around the Network

A new switch would indeed have an effect on the current switch

"I think people should define the word crap" - Kirby007

Join the Prediction League http://www.vgchartz.com/predictions

Instead of seeking to convince others, we can be open to changing our own minds, and seek out information that contradicts our own steadfast point of view. Maybe it’ll turn out that those who disagree with you actually have a solid grasp of the facts. There’s a slight possibility that, after all, you’re the one who’s wrong.

It will only have an impact if Nintendo releases no heavy hitters in the next few years and any third party supporters that may have sold non-Nintendo fans on a console just stop porting altogether.

Obviously, both of these things happening is extremely unlikely though. And that's what it would take.