By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Article: Nintendo Has Won 2017

Switch certainly seems to be a reversal of fortunes for Nintendo so far.

Around the Network
Miyamotoo said:
potato_hamster said:

Bullshit argument.

There's nothing objective about metacritic scores. It's just the average of a sample set of the numerical scores a group of writers gave games they reviewed based on their own subjective opinions. If you're going off review scores, all you're doing is valuing a certain group's opinions above others, nothing more.

No your argument is bullshit. Average score of more than 100 reviews of gaming media is definitely far more objective when we talk whats better game, compared what you or I say.

Hey, excuse me. I'm an apparently an expert. My opinion matters more than yours.

Sorry but Nintendo wasn't even close to what Sony did with Playstation 4 in 2017. lol

potato_hamster said:
guiduc said:

Oh please, over 100 critics can review a single game. It's beyond just a ''group of writers'' as you stated. Those are supposed to be the top experts in the industry, some of them are making a living out of this. Expertise comes off of skill and knowledge, know-how. Most of them have played games for a long time. Some of them are former developers, some of them are former business representatives, some of them worked for Nintendo or Sony or MS.

Yes, we're valuing a certain ''elite'' opinion amongst others, just like we value journalism or medical expertise. Because most of the time, they know best. How are we supposed to evaluate a game's quality anyway, according to your so-called argument? With our own point of view? Because it still brings up the issue of subjectivity. Your point leads nowhere, or you'll have to explain me how you can sell your game's quality to the masses without valuing that ''group's opinions'' above other.