By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Nintendo Files Patent For Cloud Based Game Platforms (NX?)

I've been sort of playing with this idea in my head for months now, that they could have the Handheld and console counterparts of the NX work toghether to give more juice to the games overall, while keeping the price down.
I'm not technically savy enough to know if thats actually possible, so I stayed quiet about it.

The way it worked in my head is, if you take, say, Mario Kart, everyone could bring their portable NX as a controller and have their own screen instead of Splitscreen (even if you might not like that idea :P), the individual handhelds would all hook up toghether to render their own screens in 60 fps and would get additional power from the home console for more graphical flourish. That way the console doesn't need to carry the whole load of rendering the game twice to eight times like the wiiU currently does, whenever streaming o the gamepad. The more Nx handhelds you get toghether with the main console, the stronger it gets.
Problem is, I imagine, that's probably pie in the sky talk, and might not even be technically possible. And even if it is, it might be very complicated to program for, like I said I have no idea, as I'm not technically versed enough to know.

Now they come out with this patent, wich, while obviously not the same idea, has similaritys to mine, so I'm highly interested to see where it goes from here.
Nintendo might have reason to be confident with their next console.

Around the Network
rolltide101x said:
If Nintendo goes through with this it will more than likely be their last console. But there is no way Nintendo is going to do this so I am not to worried about it. If you thought the idea of a Wii U confused people just wait until this thing released lol