By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Politics Discussion - Humanity desperately needs a new religion

JWeinCom said:
mornelithe said:

Exceptional book, got it last year.  Difficult read for someone who didn't make it through Physics.  But, Lawrence does a good job of trying to paraphrase and attach accompanying imagery to help the reader understand the math.

I didn't read the book, but I saw a lecture he did.  I'd like to read the book to supplement it.  I'm not an expert on physics, but I have enough of a grounding to understand the arguments being made.  I don't get the math entirely, but I get the underlying physics argument.  Like, I may not get the math behind calculating the curvature of space time in a galaxy, but I get why they can use the curvature and magnification to calculate mass.  

Well, that's what pushed me to get it.  I've been watching allot of his lectures/speeches/debates lately, and it piqued my curiosity.  Definitely recommend.

Around the Network
Ka-pi96 said:
Mike_L said:

Exactly.

hehe, religiosity? Never heard that one before.

It is surprising to see the US higher on that scale than Israel though. Aren't Israel one of the few countries with a state religion still?

Israel is kind of a weird case.  Judaism is not only a religion, but also a culture.  Jews believed they were the chosen people of god, so there was no reason or mandate for them to convert others.  So, Jewish people share, for the most part, a common heritage.  So it's a culture and ethnicity in addition to being a religion.

Like, me for example.  I was born Jewish, and I don't have a problem identifying as Jewish, but I don't believe in the relgion in the least.   I'm also entitled to Israeli citizenship if I so chose.  I've never been to Israel, but I'd imagine that many people nominally profess a belief in Judaism, but don't strictly practice it.