By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - Non-Pewdiepie youtubers about the Nintendo Youtube program

Mr Khan said:
The trouble is you have people making money off of stuff they shouldn't be making money off of. You want money, create content. Talking to yourself while playing video games is not content.

but Nintendo also claims news/review videos that only show parts of trailers, which Nintendo released to the press themselves (open for monetization)

Around the Network

have to say that i'm glad these youtubers have made their views clear. i work in the industry and it's a terrible move.

Mr Khan said:
The trouble is you have people making money off of stuff they shouldn't be making money off of. You want money, create content. Talking to yourself while playing video games is not content.

so tv shows that discuss movies while showing clips from them is not content? or game reviewers reviewing a game? 

Yakuzaice said:

So can anyone actually point me towards court cases that show these youtubers don't fall under fair use as a transformative work?  I've seen lots of people just claim things are illegal or legal, but pretty much never based on any rulings.  The fact that this only seems to ever be an issue on youtube would suggest that it is legal, but Google doesn't want to fight it.  Otherwise why aren't sites like Giant Bomb or Blip shut down when they host the same kind of content.

Also, what exactly is the legal standpoint of a copyright holder taking control of content when only a portion is theirs?  This is more in reference to the past where Nintendo would put ads on videos and claim the revenue.  Was there any legal standing in that or was it just Google unwilling to fight it?  Could the video maker have then filed a copyright claim against Nintendo since it was using their content as well?