By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Is this Gen of Consoles just WEAK?

These consoles were outdated the second they were manufactured. That's the problem with this generation.

"On my business card I am a corporate president. In my mind I am a game developer. But in my heart I am a gamer." - Satoru Iwata

Around the Network
2008ProchargedGT said:
Landguy said:
TheAdjustmentBureau said:
Both the Xbox one and ps4 will blow away horizon 2, infamous etc in 3 years. Titles like uncharted 4, quantum break, halo 5 gears 4 will destroy games out now.

This gen is no different than previous gens. Resistance 1 and perfect dark zero looked hardly a gain at all on previous gen. Consoles have never been PCs

I am not sure i buy into the "it'll blow them away" theory about later genereation games.  Last gen, that was the case becasue the totally different architecture of the systems.  This gen, the X86 architecture is very similar to last gen and the video cards and processors are nearly identical to their off the shelf.  I don't see the games getting a lot better over time.  Sure, the first party Sony titles will look pretty good, but that will be a design decision more than anything.

How the hell do you manage to contradict yourself in back to bqck sentences? 

I was speaking in regards to the PS3 and the Cell procesor and the 360.

Now, the PS4/XB1 both are based on the same architecture as the 360.  

It is near the end of the end....

To be honest, my problem with the PS360 hardware was never that it lacked power. I never look at a 360 game and say "that looks hideous" the way I would on a PSOne game. And as my favorite console IS the PSOne, go figure on how much I care about graphics.