By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - How powerful will Nintendo's next-gen handheld/console be?

ohmylanta1003 said:
jonnybmk said:
I am a professional in this business and I can guarantee that there will NOT be another Nintendo console.

If anyone asks, I DO NOT work for Nintendo. My heart is broken, by the way.

Troll?

LOL. Get a clue.

Around the Network

I'm not even care about Nintendo games, so i hope next Sony PSVita2/PSP3 get better support from 1st or 3rd party. It's totally obvious that next Sony handheld will be more powerful than Nintendo next handheld.

VanceIX said:
spemanig said:
VanceIX said:

No way. Not even going to be close.

The very best in mobile chips today (in phones that cost $800+) have trouble matching up to 2006 home computers in terms of power. I really doubt Nintendo would break the bank to put that kind of chip in their system.

Not to mention that the screen will almost certainly not even be full HD (I hope it is, but looking at Nintendo's track record, it will probably be 1280x720 or 1600x900, max).

The Vita's already close to PS3 levels now. No doubt in my mind is can be done by 2016.

Vita is absolutely no where near PS3 level.

The only thing the Vita has over the PS3 is RAM. It has less cores in the CPU (and each is much weaker than the PS3), and a considerably weaker GPU.

It's noticeable when devs try to port PS3 games like Borderlands 2. It's insanely hard to optimize, and the end product is usually a buggy mess.

It might be feasible in 2016, but only if Nintendo wants to charge $600+ for a handheld, which they absolutely won't.

Phones (particularily Apple's) have a massive mark up. 

Nvidia's Tegra tablet with a big 8 inch screen destroys the Vita and probably can come close to PS3/360 graphics and that costs $299.99 today (and is almost certainly sold at a decent profit margin). 

VanceIX said:
spemanig said:
VanceIX said: