By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - Gamestop to roll out a credit card with really high interest rate

OmegaRed421 said:

I hope this isn't true...I already have to ask about too many services when someone make a purchase..."Do you want the Game Protection Guarantee, no okay, Would you like to sign up for our Pro Benefits card, no okay, would you like to sign up up for our credit card, how about a pre-order for Destiny? PLEASE at least say yes to the free basic power card....". FML

Yea, I often just tell them to skip on that pitch, not interested in anything but the purchase. I have been shopping at the same gamestop for over 12 years now, so I only get asked that by new employees. 

Around the Network
cannonballZ said:
CladInShadows said:
Like any rewards card, if you pay it off as soon as you use it, you get nothing but benefits. If you don't have that kind of control over your money, then steer clear of it.

If you have the money to pay it off then why use a credit card in the first place?

I don't think the benefits of using the gamestop card will be worth it. If you're a power up member you get points, the same points they will give you for using the credit card. Those points are worthless for the most part, to get anything worth value you must have like 20k+ points. 

I agree with stearing clear, even if you do have control over your spending habbits.

There is little reason not to use a credit card if you have control over your spending habits and have the money to pay it off.

As others have mentioned, there are the benefits of bolstering your credit rating, cashback/rewards, and (probably the most important one of all) security for your money. You have no security carrying around cash and usually not much more carrying around a loaded debit card.