By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Nintendo Discussion - What if.. Satoru Iwata gets fired by share holders and re-place him with an American.

I don't know know how much the rest of you know about Japanese culture (I'm an expert), but Nintendo would be shooting themselves in the foot and Japan would commit public sudoku.

Around the Network

Seriously, we need Cammie to take over.

I don't see Iwata making it past 2014. I would guess Nintendo would stick with someone from Japan. I would welcome some fresh thinking from Nintendo leadership

Gaming since 1990

Squirtle Squirtle (I would appear on mobile games! And that would suck...)

"I've Underestimated the Horse Power from Mario Kart 8, I'll Never Doubt the WiiU's Engine Again"

If that happened, I would guess they would make a smartphone (with exclusive nintendo IPs)... Because that's where most of their audience is going

Around the Network

my body is ready---

Soundwave said:

Another interesting FYI ... Retro Studios exists today largely because Howard Lincoln championed the idea and Yamauchi trusted him.

And Retro was supposed to be a studio that made multiple games too, unfortunately after Lincoln left that idea kinda got thrown away because Nintendo got burned by Jeff Spanenberg and then never trusted Retro with two projects at once ever again.

Lincoln also went to bat for Nintendo to get EA and other third parties to make games for the N64 even though Nintendo's Japanese HQ had hamstrung NOA with the cartridge format. 

Nintendo also branched out by taking chances on developers like Silicon Knights (Eternal Darkness), Left Field (NBA Courtside), and made a partnership for multiple Star Wars games in the 90s.