By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close

Forums - Gaming Discussion - What Gaming Series Has Continuously Improved For Multiple Generations?

If I had to pick one I have to go with Metal Gear Solid.  I have liked every numbered entry in the series more than the last, with MGS 4 being my favorite MGS game so far.  The story was one of the best I've ever played in a video game and once I started playing it hooked me and its one of those rare games I was not able to stop playing.  To be honest I don't see them topping 4 for me just because I like Snake way more than Big Boss, but that could change as I still have to completely beat Peace Walker, but Ill make sure I do before 5 comes out.  So anyway what game series do you think has been able to continuously improve as generations passed?

Note: Can't pick games that have only been around for one generation like Uncharted.

Around the Network

For me it would be Zelda! Each new installment is better than the last one (at least for me)!!

"I've Underestimated the Horse Power from Mario Kart 8, I'll Never Doubt the WiiU's Engine Again"

ermm, pokemon.

very very slightly. Not that I'd give them all high scores because some of them lost "Magic", and didn't improve enough. But they add a little bit more mechanics every game which enhances depth.

From the perspective of "if you've never played a pokemon game which one would you recommend?" I'd pretty much recommend the latest pokemon every time

Sports games are another like NBA 2K series, and Madden. The best in each generation is better than the generation before it, even if they rehash a lot within said generation.

Good timing, I just finished MGS3 like 10 minutes ago lol.